top of page

VOICE OF BACEPROT - RETAS ALBUM REVIEW

RETAS

 

RETAS is the long waited full length album of Indonesian all girl metal band, VOICE OF BACEPROT. Released on July14 2023 via 12WIRED. Consist of 9 songs which some of songs were their previous singles. The band issued the first single from the album, "What's the Holy (Nobel) Today?” on 15 June

 

1.       What's The Holy (Nobel) Today?

2.       PMS

3.       Age Oriented

4.       The Enemy of Earth is You

5.       Kawani

6.        [NOT] PUBLIC PROPERTY

7.       God, Allow Me (Please) to Play Music

8.       School Revolution

9.       God, Allow Me (Please) to Play Music (Live at HITC Jakarta 2022)

 




Top Faves

School Revolution

This is their very well known track and made the band famous. I already made a reaction video on this in the 2nd season. (by the way I would like to thank all the viewer who watched that video. This is my most viewed video in my channel.

Well I could say that the funk sound offered in the song is excellent. You will get into the music as you play this even this is in Indonesian language. As the first time I heard this track, my heart start beating fast and tempted me to bang into the music. The sounds were too catchy and cool as well. My favorite is the bass plays. You will enjoy the beat of the bass plays. I also like rapping of the vocal there. It gives color to the music.

PMS

PMS means for perempuan merdeka seutuhnya, meaning “completely independent women”. This track offers pop-rock vocal melodies. I love the chorus parts of the song. You will love to sing along. This track is lighter comparing on the other tracks. For me the track shows the lighter side of the band. It compliments as well the music video shown in the song the uplifting vibe of the song shows their journey as a band and how did they grow.

The message of the song is a call to action for all women who experience imposed constraints in life to continue on nonetheless. Nobody else has the authority to choose whether you can follow your dreams if you have any.

 

Honorable mentions

What's The Holy (Nobel) Today

This track has reminiscence on the Guitar plays on Metallica. It’s kinda reminds me of “I Disappear” on their intro parts. The heaviness of the riffs is satisfying and gives the heavy that the listeners wanted.

The songs' message is wonderful, too. It discusses the promotion of ending the conflict and bringing about peace. The mass destruction weapons that have been developed are awful as the title says so.

 

[NOT] PUBLIC PROPERTY

I made a reaction video on this on the third season and you may check out that as well.

In this track , I do appreciate the song’s message. It tells about the sacredness of Women’s body. It shows women empowerment and advocating women rights. I adore the boldness of the band and sharing this to the listeners.

 

The Enemy of Earth is You

The song’s message is the reason why the song makes special. The lyrics tells about the advocacy to save our planet and people should be responsible taking care of our planet. Like the song “Not Public Property”, I amaze on the band action where they use music as their tool to spread advocacy.

 

Least Faves

Age Oriented

I could say that for me, this is the weakest track among of the other tracks. The vocal execution is not that interesting as the other tracks. I cannot feel the level of the vibe on the vocals as I compare the other tracks. Aside from that, the inclusion of the mechanical voice / growls in the song makes the song less appealing.

On the other hand, guitar, bass and drums plays offers a funky sound that you would jive into the music. So far I cannot say the song is bad, infact I do like it. But this is my least fave in the album.

5/5

I am satisfied listening the entire album; all of the tracks were great and listen worthy. Every time you play this album, you will get excited to listen even if you shuffle it. It’s like the giving a lot of surprises every time you listen this.

Each band members displayed their skill very well. Marsya is versatile, she could sing, rap, growls. It’s all in one and her guitar plays offers powerful and catchy riffs that a listener would surely appreciate. Drummer, Siti perfected the drum plays as she offers heavy chugging that bang your head well and lastly, Widi’s bass plays gives in the funky bass line that you would dance on the beat.

Even though they were brought up in a rigorous tradition, it is without a doubt that this band became well-known. They exuded self-assurance and made their talents stand out.

 Looking forward on their future album and play on stage with the metal legends, like IRON MAIDEN, METALLICA and so on.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page