top of page

VALLEY OF CHROME SELF TITLED ALBUM REVIEW




Valley Of Chrome resumed their gigs and travels after the successful release of their second album, Never the lifeless. Before they recorded again, it would be some time. In 2012, the group returned with the self-titled album. The songs on the album, which was the result of a songwriting competition between Rogel and producer Eric Perlas, are notable for only employing the Filipino language. This eventually turned into a marketing success because it allowed the band to reach a wider local audience.


Valley of Chrome (2012)

1. Pagbangon

2. Agimat

3. Duelo

4. Dagat ng Apoy

5. Pangako

6. Itim

7. Japan

8. Pagliyab

9. Patungo sa Dilim

10. Sa Aking Mga Kamay

11. Sanib

12. Wakas


Top Faves

Pangako – My most fave track in the album. The first time I heard this was back in 2012. When a metalhead friend, listened me a Filipino metal track. At first I can’t believe that we have a metalcore song in a Filipino language. From then I started to fall in love not just in this song but also in the band. I could say that All of the aspects of the song were perfect, from the riffs, drum plays and growls. It is perfectly executed. The riffs offer a catchy sound that you could sing along. I praise as well rogel on his transition from growls to clean vocals.

The lyrics and message of the song, tells about a promise to a loved one. The despite in its harsh melodies, the lyrics were so cheesy, it is a typical love song is. Let me share my favorite lyrical part of the song

Ako'y nakahawak sa iyong kamay

Walang pagsisising ako ay naghintay

Nakaukit sa 'kin ang pangalan mo

Ako at ikaw, hanggang maging abo

This part of the song really hits me hard. It is a vow to someone that they will be together til death.



Duelo – The first time I heard this song is way back in 2013 when a metalhead friend suggest me to listen this song. When I first time heard it, I never failed me. This song offers headbangable riffs. When I listen this song, I cannot stop to bang my head. It is heavy and it fits the theme of the song. Aside from it, The drum plays is heavy as well. It’s like an Armalite firing at your ears.

The lyrics tells about the inner struggles and how we face it. Let me share my favorite part of the song.

Ininom ko ang lason, ako ba ay duwag?

Mapagkunwari? Ang peke at huwad?

Di makakilos nakabalot sa tinik

Walang katapusang paghihimagsik


Dagat ng Apoy – The intro is hyped and it is fit for a moshpit starter. It offers a catchy sound that a metalhead would surely loved. Every time they play this in live audience, the crowd is getting crazy and mosh all they want. Its kinda giving you a spell to get crazy in the pit. I give praise of the guitarists, Tatel and Jethro’s guitar plays. They made a perfect balancing of the melodical and heaviness of the song.

The lyrical message deals with the facing all the challenges in life and overcome it. I gives hope and motivation to listeners. Let me share my favorite part of the song

Gumugulo sa iyong isipan takot at kaba

Buhayin ang sarili mo't magsimula ka na

Sino ba naman sila para pigilan ka?

Sa Dagat ng Apoy, muling lalaban ka


Honorable Mentions


Patungo sa Dilim – The guitar riffs give an artistic visualization of the song. I love the riffs offered. The aggressiveness is just right and offers catchy sound too When I am listening this. Its kinda give me visualization that I am going to a dark tunnel. Rogel’s vocals adds the depth and he is like a story teller that giving you the picture of the song.


Japan – At first I got curious why they titled the song “Japan”. I thought It tells about Japanese culture but I figure it out later why they titled it that way, it deals with the determination and discipline that they convey on the song. This is common on Japanese people that they have these two characteristics and everybody can apply it. Another though that I had in my mind is Japan is like a sun where it never runs out where we could put in analogy that a person be like a sun where determination never dies.

On the melody, I could say that the guitar riffs are uplifting. That you will feel motivated while listening this track


Least Faves

Agimat

This is the weakest track for me due to lack of appeal. I am not saying that the song is bad, in fact I do appreciate the heaviness displayed, the growls and guitar riffs is good. For me, I don’t feel the vibe of this song comparing on the other tracks.



Comparing on their predecessors, this album has improved a lot. From production, dynamics and songwriting showed maturity. The shift from English to Filipino lyrics is good, it broaden the audience of the band and it gives an identity to the band rather than being a generic metalcore. Most of the pinoy metalcore bands making songa in English that some listeners and critics would say they’re just copy cat from a foreign metalcore band. Even I prior listening this album, All of the metalcore bands that I listen is predominantly in English and It gives me a new perspective when I listen their album.

The MVPs in this album were Tatel and Jethro. Their guitar plays were great and exceptional. They formulate a catchy melodies on each song that a listener would surely appreciate. In fact, I got hooked listening all of the tracks due to its guitar plays.

Overall it is a superb experience listening this album, Valley of Chrome proved that it is worth the wait releasing this album. It gives a satisfaction to listeners after hearing this album.


Rating 5/5

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page