top of page

SAYDIE SELF TITLED ALBUM REVIEW



Saydie is a rock band in based in Manila formed in April 2003.The band is best known for being pioneers in female fronted heavy music in the Philippines, with their debut self-titled album being one of the first to showcase a unique take on the genre in the local music scene. Over time, Saydie’s raw, aggressive and authentic approach to their music has earned them a huge and dedicated following.

The band composed of Kat Taylor, Karl Kliatchko, Lehmann Flores, Mark Garchitorena, and Marvin Montero

In early 2005, the band released its debut self-titled album. Their carrier single Krolithikah became cult favorites in the band.


Tracklist


1 Damien

2 Heather

3 Karmela

4 Krolithikah

5 Lie

6 Lush

7 Modelo

8 Muera

9 Powder

10 Vylet


Top Faves


Krolithikah–One of the signature songs of Saydie. I love how the rawness and the aggressiveness of the song. You will feel the screams of Kat Taylor especially on the chorus parts, Mapapa die follow the water kana lang. She screams like a lion roaring her anger.


I love the part on “Heads are rolling down your golden stairs” the drum hits and the guitar riffs makes me to bang my head faster and harder.


The title of the song came from the words “crab” and “politika” (politics). At first I dunno understand where the title is coming from. I found out as I made my further research. On the message of the song, the song tells about corruption and these officials let the people suffer while they’re enjoying the pleasures in life Let me share some of the lyrics


Creeping like a spider ignore the marks that evil has left behind they starve, you bloat they die and still you bloat and yet, the people wait the people are waiting watch the water and let it guide you watch the water and let it kill you


Lush –The heavy guitar riffs are the star in this song. The heaviness is ear satisfying;the sound like an alternative metal mixed nu metal. It will give you an eargasm when listen this. Accompanied by Kat’s growls it’s perfect match for the song.


On the lyrics, based on my observation, this tells about a character named Pinky who died and the subject can’t accept what happen and pretending that still alive. Let me share the lyrics Pinky,will i see you awake? No!Where She'd Go?!! No!Where She'd Go? No!No!No! hear me when i get home lets pretend i'll pretend she's awake..


Least Faves


Damien – I don’t like the arrangements of the song, they trying to keep the song creepy and heavy at

the same time but the blending doesn’t work that well. Kat’s singing doesn’t match the heaviness of the guitar riffs. Magulosiya.

I don’t like the scream part on the beginning, when I heard that part, tinortureyungtengako, I remove my headsets right away.


Rating 2.5 /5


Most of the tracks in this album are just right, not bad but not good as well. Most of the songs have the same vibe. Only Krolithikah and Lush outstands the most in the track listing, while the others has more only screams and aggression and that’s it. It’s kinda boring. I am looking on this album the vibe and the catchy sound that they offer on their later releases. But on this album, I haven’t found that sound that I am looking for. In terms of the production quality, the album has like a demo quality, you will feel the rawness of each track.


I do appreciate the rawness of the album and the aggressiveness that Kat and company displayed. They like young rebels who were expressing their anger towards the society. Since this is their debut album, I know that they just starting to craft their sound. You could see their talents and potentials on the music genre and they would master it. This album reminds me of Greyhoundz and Slapshock’s debut albums were aggression was the highlight on the song.

Kat taylor’s vocals is one of a kind. She’s the pioneer of Female front metal band in Philippines and her screaming is one of a kind. Nowdays, you will see lot of female fronted band doing the same as Kat but her voice is unique and exceptional.

For me, this album paved way for the other female fronted metal bands craft their own music. Saydie ignited the new era in the local metal scene.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page