top of page

PASSCODE Strive Album Review




STRIVE is the third major studio album (but fifth including indies) by PassCode. It was released in two versions: a limited CD+DVD edition and a regular CD edition. Their track ATLAS was released 2019.09.25 as Single. It also feature in Youtube. Followed by STARRY SKY released in 2020.05.19 as single. Next is Anything new was released on 2020.10.28 and Finally SPARK INGINTION released on DEC 20 2020 as their carrier single in the album. It received positive feedback from the fans.



Track Listing

10. yours



Top Faves


SPARK IGNITION

I love the electronic beat of the song, the heavy riffs of the song plus the idol vibe makes the song perfect. The song meets extremities, METAL and Electro POP sound. It offers a catchy beat that you will love dance and to mosh at the same time. It’s kinda crossfaith music style mixed with baby metal. The vocal execution of the girls was also amazing.

STARRY SKY

This song is the Official soundtrack of the Japanese drama, Inseki Kazoku. The intro and the chorus parts are my favorite part on the song. On the intro part I love the piano part then followed by YUNA’s GROWLS. You’re enjoying the catchy sound of the instrumentals then you will be surprised by a heavy growl. It’s like some give you like a jack in a box. On the chorus part I love the fast melody of the song, you will feel the adrenaline rush on your body and engage you to hype yourself.

Anything New

The song has more pop / idol vibe, the melody is catchy that you will engage to dance. You will love to sing along with the girls especially on the pre chorus. It’s remarkable that the melody would instill your mind. My favorite part is on Yuna’s growl parts, it’s a surprise since I thought that this song is just light, but they still keep the Yuna’s signature growl. Her growls is all out that she release her anger and match the heavy guitar attacks and the chugging of the drums, you will enjoy to bang you head.


Honorable Mentions


ATLAS

The chorus part carries out the song, the song offers more electro pop music which is relaxing. You will love sing along the chorus and it’s easy to familiarize. There are still growl parts just like in anything new but this one is lighter.


Stealth Haze

This is the heaviest track in the album. It reminds me of Fear, Loathing in Las Vegas in a female version. You will feel the aggressiveness of the song courtesy of Yuna’s growls and the heavy instrumental attacks, the guitars, drums and the electronic sounds.


Golden Fire

The song phasing makes this on my honorable mentions. I love the aggressive intro to popish vibe on the chorus then aggressive again on the verses then pop sound again on the ending. The arrangements and dynamics of the song are good. The vocal execution is outstanding. Their voices are cute on the ending parts. I am amazed on the rapping, growl and singing on the song.



Least Faves


Yin-Yang

The song is really good and I love the heaviness The problem is the song is too short, that you will feel you’re not satisfied. In fact when I listen this track, I get used to headbang on the song but suddenly the song ended leaving you unsatisfied to head bang more


Seize Approaching BRAND NEW ERA

This is the song that I don’t enjoy much. I don’t like the phasing of the song, it kinda confusing. The melodies are not in order. There are heavy melodies then suddenly it will transition to rapping which, im not jiving into the music.


RATING 3.75/5


The album is fun to listen, you will feel the energy that the girls displayed on each song. I love how they execute it and you will never get tired of listening. I also praise the people on the instrumentals, the aggressive guitar plays, drum hitting and the electronic sound paved way to give life on the songs. Most of the song offers catchy and remarkable sound. If I still compare this album with baby metal, I still choose, Strive album due to its variety and the uniqueness of the album.


But comparing this to the previous album, Clarity. I could say clarity has more influences in terms of musicality. The previous album has an influence of Easy Core, Idol music, Metal and Electronic music. I think on this album they just remain on their Electronic, Pop and metal music which is fine but I don’t see any growth on their music. I know this is my own perspective and I know some of you will not agree with me. I honestly say that they should explore more or test the waters. I Think that’s what’s lacking in this album.


I know this band has a potential to rise up on the music scene. They offer a unique sound that their contemporaries won’t imitate it. I am looking forward on their future releases.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page