top of page

PARAMORE Brand New Eyes album review

Brand New Eyes is the third studio album by American rock band Paramore, released on September 29, 2009, through Fueled by Ramen in the United States and Canada. The album was produced by Rob Cavallo and recorded in Hidden Hills, California from January to March 2009. It was written by band members Hayley Williams and Josh Farro, with guitarist Taylor York who co-wrote on four tracks, as a follow-up to Riot! (2007).


Track listing


1. "Careful" 3:50

2. "Ignorance" 3:38

3. "Playing God" (Williams, Farro, Taylor York) 3:03

4. "Brick by Boring Brick" 4:14

5. "Turn It Off" 4:20

6. "The Only Exception" 4:28

7. "Feeling Sorry" (Williams, Farro, York) 3:05

8. "Looking Up" 3:29

9. "Where the Lines Overlap" 3:18

10. "Misguided Ghosts" (Williams, Farro, York) 3:01

11. "All I Wanted" (Williams, York) 3:48



Top Faves

Brick By Boring Brick – My most favorite song in the album. The intro give a catchy sound that a listener wont forget, I remember when I was I highschool when this song played, I started to fall in love and get familiarize to paramore. The guitar plays is top notch which offers remarkable sound and plays your head often. In addition, Hayley’s voice is also good, it shows power and aggressiveness on the song.

The lyrical content of the song is good, it tells about forgetting all of fantasies and face the reality. I love the line

Well, you built up a world of magic Because your real life is tragic Yeah, you built up a world of magic

It reminds us fantasies are not real, we should face what is real in life.


Careful

The song offer slow but heavy at the same time. What I mean is the song is not fast paced as Ignorance and Misery Business but still I feel the rage and heaviness through guitar riff and drum plays. I felt the fierceness of the band when they play it, it harmonize all of the instruments together which offers a good sound.


Ignorance

The song shows aggressiveness and rage, the song has reminiscence of Riot days and for me this song is one of the heaviest in the album. The riffs displayed by the guitars make your headbanging experience good.


Honorable Mentions


Playing God

I love the lyrical content of this song, it has deep meaning, it tells about judgmental, self-righteous people who try to make themselves feel better by casting all of their negative reflections on others.Which we could see in our society that there are some kind of these people. The song reminds me of Yano’s “Santong kabayo” which has a similar message on it.


Least Favorites


Misguided Ghost

The reason why I put this song on my least faves is due to lack of charisma of this song comparing on the other tracks. I don’t know but I don’t feel the vibe of this song. The song is good and I do appreciate the guitar plays here but what I think the song doesn’t fit well in the album.



The album shows more maturity comparing on their previous albums, it shows the depth in terms of lyrical message and musicality. The sound of the album has departed from the emo sound which they had on their debut album and less aggressive comparing from their Riot album and focus more on lyrical message. The album could describe as alternative rock. I could see this is an advantage to the band since it shows the band’s diversity in terms exploring new sound. It gives a fresh new experience to the listeners.

However there are some lackluster, for me the most of the songs in this album is mellower comparing on their Riot album which I felt lack in this album. It offers less aggressive tracks that sometimes feel boring when you try to explore the entire album.

Overall the album is good, I seen the maturity of the band and I am excited to see the later materials of the band. Hoping that they could do better.





Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page