top of page

MY CHEMICAL ROMANCE - THE BLACK PARADE ALBUM REVIEW





The Black Parade is the third studio album by My Chemical Romance. Released in Europe on October 20, 2006, through Reprise Records, it was produced by the band with Rob Cavallo, known for having produced multiple albums for the Goo Goo Dolls and Green Day. It is a rock opera centering on a dying character with cancer known as "The Patient". The album tells the story of his apparent death, experiences in the afterlife, and subsequent reflections on his life. It is the band's only studio album to feature drummer Bob Bryar before his departure in 2010


Track listing

1. "The End."

2. "Dead!" 3:15

3. "This Is How I Disappear"

4. "The Sharpest Lives"

5. "Welcome to the Black Parade"

6. "I Don't Love You"

7. "House of Wolves"

8. "Cancer"

9. "Mama" (featuring Liza Minnelli)

10. "Sleep"

11. "Teenagers"

12. "Disenchanted"

13. "Famous Last Words"

14. "Blood" (hidden track)


Top faves


Welcome to the black parade

this song has offers different styles, from operatic to drum lyre just like in the festival parade and post hardcore sound. It impresses me much since it has similarities with Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody. I love the Gerald’s voice, it is powerful and he good transition from slow to fast tempo. He showed versatility in this song. The riffs display is ear catchy and satisfying to listen.

Whenever I listen this song, It gives me a nostalgia since this song became popular during my highschool days. I feel that I am traveling back in time on this song. Aside from that, it is like a story telling. it visualizes me the story of the subject in the song.


Famous Last Words

This song offers an aggressive approach comparing on the other song. I like riffs and hooks and please my ears very much.

The message of song, tells that life’s goes on despite of the challenges that you encountered, this is in opposite that others tell that this song is all about suicide. In fact this song encourages going on and keeping you motivated. Gerald’s voice matches the tone of the song, He shows the fierceness. He’s like motivator that helps you out.


Dead

The melodies offer in this song is one of the assets. The dynamics is good and it is perfectly balance. The guitar riffs is good and it gives the post hardcore sound, the drum plays gives the justice of the post hardcore sound and bass plays gives the depth of the song.


Honorable Mentions


I don’t love you

this song defines the emo side of the band, I could say that this song has similarities to Helena. But the difference is Helena offers and aggressive emo approach meanwhile, this song gives pure emo approach. When you listen this song, you will pour all you emotions out. Every lyric thrown on this song is like stabbing your heart multiple times. Especially on the line “I don’t love you, like I did yesterday”. A listener would sure cry all out when he listen that line.

Least Faves

Mama, Sleep

Both of this tracks offers good sound, however these tracks are blunt. It is less creative comparing on the other tracks offered. I feel they put less effort on these songs. I don’t felt the energy and the vibe of the band when they deliver this song.



This album defines what the band does. Most of MCR fan would surely tell that they began listening the band due to this album. Even I myself become fan of MCR is due to this album. One of the possible reasons is the sophistication that they applied on the songs, the song doesn’t offer repetitive patterns and every listen will not get bored checking the tracks. In addition, every song has their own story and every listener would surely relate. Gerald is like telling you a story and he is traveling with you showing the picture of the song. This is no doubt since we know Gerald is also a writer and he express his imagination thru his songs. I could say that he an excellent artist and he utter his creativity. His vocal execution is a top notch as well.

Overall this album is in my list of hall of fame, surely it gives a musical creativity on the song and it defines as well my teenage life.


Rating 5/5


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page