top of page

MR BONES AND THE BONEYARD CIRCUS Horror Scene Album Review




Mr. Bones and The Boneyard Circus. Horror Rock / Theatrical Macabre band based in the Philippines.

Formed In 2009, The band gained recognition due to its unique performance and theatrical presentation that impressed every gig goers. They had performed various festivals like, Pulp Summer Slam, Rakrakan Festival and UP fair and different local gigs in metro manila like, Rakista Jam Tayo series and many more.


The band Composed of

Mr. Bones - Vox

Juni Devecais - Guitars

Alvin Chan - Guitars

JM Godinez - Bass | B.Vox

Shaun Hilario - Drums

Karl Vito Cruz - Keys


Their debut album Horror Scene was released on February 24 2010 featuring their carrier single Go Go Dance.


Track List

1. Twisted Boy (Feat. Anna Hyde)

2. Horror Scene

3. Requiescat En Pace

4. Go Go Dance On My Grave

5. Grease, Gas And Glory

6. Graveyard Song

7. Lady Grimm

8. The Acrobat Falls From The Trapeze

9. Haunted Wonderland

10. She's A Monster

11. Frankenstein's Bride

12. Zombie Showdown

13. Twisted Boy

14. Go Go Dance (Extended Version)


Top Faves


Go Go Dance – This one of the well known songs in the band. This is commonly played in their gigs. What I like in this is song is the transition from Symphonic / creepy intro to hard pumping rock chorus. The melody and aggressiveness is perfectly balanced. You cant hesitate to bang your head on the chorus, as Mr. Bones aggressively singing “GO GET TO MY GRAVE” accompanied with the Guitar riffs and drum plays.


Grease, Gas And Glory – This song has a different vibe among of the other songs, may pagka surf rock sound ang delivery and I am liking it so much. The song is not too heavy and Its just right. I love the blending of Mr. Bones and the female singer, its perfect and I am giving thumbs on it.

Haunted Wonderland – The aggression on this song is what I like the most on this song. I like the catchy guitar riffs, mapapa headbang ka sa guitar parts. The blending of the different instruments works well. The Keyboard gives a haunted ambiance and gives a unique sound.


Honorable Mentions


Frankenstein's Bride – This song has the same vibe as Haunted Wonderland, The keyboard parts is what I like the most on the song due to Gothic sound. It gives haunted ambiance and makes the song good. There just a bit of low light and that is… the song is too short, I getting in this song then the song ends… I mean nabitin ako.


Least Faves


Twisted Boy (Feat. Anna Hyde)

Horror Scene

Graveyard Song


I put these three songs in my least faves since these songs are are way to boring to listen. The first few minutes, I felt that there no changes in the song, its kinda sluggish, repetitive and no progression. There’s nothing interesting and I’d rather use these as my background music. There’s no sense of excitement when I am listening these songs.



Rating 3 /5


Their debut album is one of a kind, this album Is not a typical rock album that you usually hear. This album combined the elements of theatrical play, rock, Gothic, and symphonic rock. When you listen this album from the beginning to the end, it brings you to the fantasy where you will meet different Halloween characters, such as Frankenstein and zombies and bring you to never ending haunted madness.

I praise Mr. Bones on his vocal works on the song. His voice is unique. His voice is neither the typical rock nor metal. I cant explain but he is one of a kind. Karl’s keyboards is one of my favorites in the band. Without him, the sound of the band would be boring. His keyboard line makes the song unique and brings in the haunted theme in the album.

Overall I love the album is fun to listen and I love their experimentation on the sounds Involved in this album. This band is one of the bands that you will look on live gigs!


Σχόλια


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page