top of page

Maybe Thursday - Left To Our Own Devices ep review




Maybe Thursday is a Pop-punk, Easycore band from Marikina City, Philippines. Formed in May 2012, The band's members are Dawn Dacasin (lead vocalist), Lawrence Jay de Guzman and John Dacasin (guitarists), Brian de Leon (bassist), Mec San Diego (drummer) and Matthew Rico Valencia (synth).

The members originally play on different local underground scenes before forming Maybe Thursday. Band's guitarists, Lawrence Jay de Guzman and John Dacasin, and vocalist, Dawn Dacasin, formerly from "A Letter to Elise," thought of forming a new Easycore/Pop-punk band. Recruited by Lawrence Jay de Guzman was the former facilitator of the solo act "LVLIIX " Matthew Valencia and former members of the band "Atanus" Mec San Diego and Brian de Leon by their colleague John Dacasin to be a part of Maybe Thursday. Currently in the works with their originals and continues to the song writing process. The band is influenced by a blend of edgy melodies and fast paced tempos from old school punk to modern music arrangements


Track Listing

1 Stand For Us

2 Hate and Poison

3 After Effects

4 Save Your Life

5 Something Better


1. Hate and Poison

This is my favorite song in the EP, the song offers a catchy sound from the synths. When I listen it, the sound will left in your mind. The song has a positive and cheery vibe. It makes you feel good. Dawn’s voice is good; it complements the song very well. The guitars and drums gives also an aggressive sound.

2. Something Better

The synth on the intro sets the listeners mood, it brings a positive vibe. I love the catchy sounds from the synths, when I listened the first few seconds of the song, I started to appreciate it. You will excite to listen the entire song. I am giving praise on Rico’s synths since he formulated a good sound that a listener would surely love. The guitars and drums gives the heaviness on the song and deliver the perfect easycore sound. On the chorus, the lyrics has a meaningful message that you will surely relate and at the same time you will love to sing along.


3. After Effects

The guitar riffs is one of my favorites on this song, the sound has a mix of post hardcore mixed with an easycore sound. The heaviness is just right and I used to bang my head when I am listening this song. The synths is also brings in the pop punk sound that makes an interesting sound. It has a perfect mix when the synths and the guitars mix together. The heaviness of the post hardcore and the lightness of poppunk sound brings in a unique sound


4. Save Your Life

This is my least favorites in the EP, the song offers a just right sound but it is less powerful than the other songs. I don’t feel the energy offered in this song. Sometimes it’s kinda boring to listen and offers less catchy sound. The transition in the song is kinda odd. Its inconsistent when they transition to a fast to slow tempo.


Verdict


This EP is satisfying to listen. Every song offers a catchy synth sound that brings attention on every listeners. The EP is raw since it the mixing and mastering of the songs is not yet polished. But despite of these I could say that this EP is worth to listen.

The MVP in this EP is Rico’s synths, he did a good job on delivering a remarkable sound on each song. I admit that I am hooked listening the EP again and again due to the synth plays. Dawn’s vocal is a top notch, her voice reminds me of Taylor Jardine of We are the in crowd. Her voice gives me nostagilia from the bands I listened back in my highschool days. Her voice is soothing and energizing at the same time. I used to sing along with her on the chorus. Lawrence and John’s guitars bring in the heavy riffs and defines the easycore sound. You will feel to bang your head when listen the riffs of the two. Lastly, the drum plays of Mec brings as well the heaviness, you will get into mosh when he hits the drums. I praise his talented drum play and it is satisfying to listen.

Overall the band showed their talents very well. The songs the Ep is worth to listen. This is one of the band I want to see live. I hope after the pandemic I hope they could play again.


Rating 3.75/5



コメント


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page