top of page

MARDELAS Mardelas IV ALBUM REVIEW







After the success of their 3rd album, Mardelas III, the band had been a while to produce a full length album. They had lineup changes as well, Yumi left the band in 2020. Leaving the band as a trio. Fast forward in 2022, the band broke their silence releasing their new album, Mardelas IV. It was released on September 7 2022.


Track listing

1. Burn Out! 04:30

2. Expendable 04:22

3. Last Round Survivor 04:00

4. The Fox and the Grapes 05:01

5. G-Metal 03:53

6. Raccoon Party 03:20

7. Force & Justice 03:41

8. Spider Thread 05:48

9. String of Life 05:07

10. M.D.M.A 05:48


Top faves

Last round survivor

This is my most favorite song in the album. Marina’s vocals displays powerful voice and compliments very well with guitars. The guitar plays of Kikyo is aggressive and shows a heavy metal approach. It is headbangable as well. However I just noticed the riffs has similarities with their previous song, DDC.


Force and Justice

Same as with Last Round Survivor, the song displayed aggressiveness. The intro reminds me of 80s heavy metal with likes of Judas priest and Iron Maiden. It offers a catchy sound especially on guitar plays. I am giving a praise on Kikyo, he formulate a good melodies in this song.



Honorable Mentions

G-metal (Album version)

Last time made a reaction video on this song. You could check my cards on the screen if you want to check that out. The album version has different approach comparing on the MV version. This version is more heavy and focus more on guitar riffs. It is still good but I prefer more the one on MV version due to balance of all instruments. On that version you will hear all of the instruments.


Least faves

Raccon party

When I heard this track, I stared to get annoyed on Marina’s voice. Her voice is like a bully child teasing another child. I don’t like the execution that she did on this song. It also led to make her voice off tune. It is very unusual to me that Marina is get off tune when singing. I admire her voice since Destrose days and it such a disappointment when I heard this song.



The approach of the band has more on with heavy metal. It is kinda inspired from the 80s heavy metal. They keep on experimenting new sounds to incorporate in their band which I do appreciate.

However there is lot of lackluster in this album, the melody offered is not as catchy as their 3 previous albums. Most of the songs are not charismatic and it is like generic. It offers less creativity. When I listen all of the tracks repeatedly, only few song were left on my mind. The rest has similarities. Some of the riffs offered on the song have been recycled from their previous album. I could compare the listening experience to this into a food that is not your favorite but you just need to eat it since that is only the available food there.


Personally, my excitement in this album turned to just right experience.

Overall, I have nothing to dig in further in this album. It is a just right experience to listen it.


Rating 3/5

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page