top of page

Madelas – Mardelas III album



Mardelas III is the third studio album by the band, it was released in 2018 under King Records. The album featured 11 tracks and featured their carrier single, World Vs. Honor. This is the debut of their new bassist, Hisayuki Motoishi after Hibiki left the band in 2017.


Track Listing


1. Mardelas the Third 01:41

2. World vs Honor –仁義なき世界- 05:06

3. Bullseye 04:15

4. Deception 04:15

5. Rock On! 03:43

6. On the Lam 03:43

7. No One 04:38

8. Symbiosis (album version) 05:41

9. Link (album version) 04:36

10. 都会の黄昏 –Urban Twilight- 05:05

11. Epilogue 04:21




Top Tracks

World Vs Honor

This is my most fave song in the album; the song has more elements of FUNK, POWER and HEAVY METAL which creates good vibe music. The speed and heaviness on the beat make you pumped up and excite to listenthe song. Marina’s voice still delivers the powerful sopranic voice. The guitar plays of Kikyo is still a top notch, the shred and riffs makes you an eargasm.

On the music video, it shows like a mini movie. It is like you’re watching a action/ detective movie. Its very impressive. I do give kudos on the band on their hard work on making this MV. They also guested JAPANESE ACTOR, Ryo Ono from Aibo a Japanese Drama Series on this Music Video.


Bullseye The song has more on heavy metal vibe, especially on the intro parts. The combo of Kikyo and Yumi on their guitar and drum plays displayed relentless madness and brings out the heaviness. The melody is pumped up that you will love to bang your head. For me this is one of heaviest track in the album and its good for a moshpit starter.


Symbiosis (album version)

Another powerful and heavy track. This song has a reminiscent of Mardelas I era. The sonic guitar riffs and powerful sopranic voice of Marina is present in this song. Everytime I listen this, I feel I am back on their earlier mardelas sound which I really want to hear on their music. I feel satisfied when I am listening this track, the riffs is catchy and I feel a bit of goosebumps when Marina delivers her high pitch voice.



Honorable Mentions


On the Lam

This song has more funky sound that reminds me of their 2nd album, Mardelas II. The melody reminds of their song, Cheers. I like the vibe of this song, It relaxing and makes you to tempt to drink alcoholic drinks. In fact, I used this song as my background music when I am drinking.

I love Marina’s vocals since has displayed her funky style singing. It’s very different from other tracks. She displayed her versatility on the music. Hisayuki’s bass line is good and catchy. It complements on Kikyo’s guitar plays. He displayed his excellent bass plays


Link

Same as Symbiosis, the song has a reminiscent of Early Mardelas, The song reminds me of the song, Daybreak. The melody has similarities on it. Marina’s voice delivered High pitch voice and gives justice to the song. The guitar instrumental parts brings in the heaviness that you will love to bang your head.


Least Faves


Urban Twilight

Honestly I am not into power ballad, Every time I listen this its kinda boring to me. Marina did well on singing the song but I am used on her music which is singing heavy metal / power metal style. For me, the delivery of the song is exaggerated and overacting that lessen my interest listening this song.



Verdict


The band did well on exploring new sound on their music, Mardelas III departed away from the Original sound that they have. More of the song has more on Funk influence which for me lessen the heavy vibe on the song. It think they want to introduce new sound to the fans so that they won’t get tried listening their music. In fact they succeeded, but some of the fans that I had talked with have more preference on their debut album sound.


Marina did well on singing, she displayed her powerful voice on each song and give justice to it. She also displayed her versatility on singing funk style and power ballad. Kikyo’s guitar plays displayed the ear satisfying guitar plays with his sonic and heavy riffs on every song. He is constant on bringing the heaviness on their band. Yumi’s drum play displayed his fierce and aggressiveness on every song. He is also constant same as with Kikyo delivering good music. Lastly, Hisayuki’s bass line has more on aggressive and funky sound comparing on Hibiki’s bass plays. His bass lines influence the changes on Mardelas sound and overall it’s good.


For me, the band delivered very well on this album. I praise their hard work and dedication on delivering good music. If you are fan of Lovebites, Destrose, Aldious or any Japanese power metal band better check Mardelas, their music is good.


Rating 4/5




Commentaires


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page