top of page

her last sight mirrors album REVIEW

A Metalcore band from Israel. Formed in 2019


The band composed of Nir Schwartz - Vocals Ofek Asulin - Guitar Shay Madar - Guitar Alon Lifshitz - Drums Ron Maya - Bass/Clean vocals



The band released their debut album Mirrors that was released on March 12 2021.Featuring their carrier single Rise Up. Other songs in this album were released as their singles. The song What Does It Mean was released in November 6 2020 and Forever Gone was released in January 1 2021.


Track Listing

1. Mirrors

2. Ghost

3. Rise Up

4. What Does It Mean

5. Tyranny

6. Forever Gone

7. Memories

8. Dead Romance

9. Answers

10. New Down

11. Dead and Cold



Top Faves


Rise Up


This is my most favorite song in the album. I Discovered this song on a youtube ads and from then I started to fall in love in this band. What I love the most in this song is the catchy and heavy guitar riffs, I cannot stop to bang my head and get insane everytime I listen this. The riffs gives an eargasm and nonstop madness. The chugging of the drums brings out the heavy vibe in the song. The melody has similarities with Parkway Drive’s Dream Run. In fact I also love parkway drive. The growl of Nir is excellent. He displayed the fierceness when he sings.


What Does it Mean


The riffs are the best part of this song. It has a resemblance with As I Lay Dying’s Darkest Nights. Every time I listen this, I feel I am young again and brings me back to late 2000s or the peak of metalcore music. It has nostalgia feels when you listen this. The guitar plays is catchy that you cannot stop to banging. The singing combo of Ron and Nir is a perfect mix, since Ron’s clean vocals balances the aggressive voice of Nir. This has similarities with As I Lay Dying, Tim and Josh singing style.


Forever Gone


The intro of the song has an uplifting vibe, I cant resist to jump every time I listen the intro. It energizes you and wait for the big surprise on the verses to the chorus.

On the verse I like the aggression displayed by Nir, he like a lion roaring giving justice to the song, combined with the heavy guitar riffs and relentless drum plays, it a perfect combination that giving pure metalcore sound.

On the chorus parts, Ron’s clean vocal pacifies the aggression brought by Nir.




Honorable Mentions


Ghost

When I heard this song, I thought the vocalist singing in different language on the chorus, but when I check the lyrics it is in English, I think it was in accent or the singing style.

What I like on this song is the message. This is tells about the soldier fought and killed in the war. It tells the life in war and misery that the soldier experienced.

Let me share the lyrics of the song.


A hero of war left to die in the field.

His ghost like his stories will never set free.

A point of a gun brought him right to his knees.

They left him to die eventually.


The song gives a sad vibe through it lyrics. The song gives us insight what’s the reality in the war and life on it.


Dead and Cold


I am impressed on the heaviness imposed on the song, it is relentless and you cannot stop from banging. The aggressive guitar attacks and the chugging of the drums is like a machine gun firing at your ears. The vocal works or Nir and their guest vocals Liron, has a good blending and brings in the perfect metalcore sound.



Rating 5/5


Overall the album is excellent, the boys proved even they are newbies, they could bring a quality music. So far I feel that the metalcore has revived after years of decline. We know most of the metalcore band has shifted into different genres due to the saturation of the market. But this band, revived the glory days of metalcore. Their sound brings me back in the 2000s metal that I have looking for these years, I know As Iay dying released their Shaped by fire last 2019 and offers metalcore sound but this album has offered the sound that I am looking for years. I am giving kudos to Nir and his band for giving an excellent music.


One thing that i see a bit of problem in this album is finding their right sound, so far their sound has different influences from the different metalcore bands, like As I Lay dying, killswitch engage, BFMV and Parkway Drive. But It is understandable since this is their debut album and they’re exploring their music. Hopefully on their next album they could craft their signature sound and I am expecting that music is better than this album.


This band has a potential to become a next metalcore legends, I hope they could keep on making good music.


For the fans of Metalcore music, especially if you are on the 2000s era, I could really recommend this album!






Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page