top of page

GRETA VAN FROM THE FLAMES ALBUM REVIEW


Greta Van Fleet is an American rock band from Frankenmuth, Michigan, formed in 2012. It consists of Kiszka brothers Josh (vocals), Jake (guitar) and Sam (bass guitar); and Danny Wagner (drums). They were signed to Lava Records in March 2017 and a month later the band released their debut studio EP, Black Smoke Rising. Their debut single, "Highway Tune", topped the Billboard US Mainstream Rock and Active Rock charts in September 2017 for four weeks in a row. Their second EP, From the Fires, containing the four songs from Black Smoke Rising and four new songs, was released on November 10, 2017, alongside a second single, "Safari Song".


From the Fires is the second EP by American rock band Greta Van Fleet. It is a double EP consisting of eight songs; four from their debut EP, Black Smoke Rising, and four new tracks. It was released on November 10, 2017 through Republic Records. From the Fires won the Grammy Award for Best Rock Album at the 61st Grammy Awards


Lyrically, all eight songs across the two EPs all relate to the theme of basic humanity. Specifically, vocalist Josh Kiszka explained that the EP's name and cover art were inspired by the band's camping trips of their childhood


Track Listing

1. "Safari Song" 3:56

2. "Edge of Darkness" 4:28

3. "Flower Power" 5:13

4. "A Change Is Gonna Come" (written by Sam Cooke) 3:17

5. "Highway Tune" 3:01

6. "Meet on the Ledge" (written by Richard John Thompson) 3:50

7. "Talk on the Street" 4:09

8. "Black Smoke Rising" 4:21

Total length: 32:15


Top Faves


Safari Song


I could say that this song is a good starter in the EP, The song offers Catchy guitar riffs! The melody has like a mix of AC / DC, Led zep and a GnR! The vocal style reminds me of Paradise City with a mix of style from Lep Zep . The bass lines are so powerful that you will get eargasm!!!

Highway Tune


I love the blues rock vibe on this song, it offers groovy and solid guitar riffs. It’s very soothing to the ear when you listen it. The howling vocals of Josh is fun to listen and it brings you back from the 60s blues music! The melody kinda reminds me of Juan Dela Cruz’s Beep Beep


Honorable Mentions


Black Smoke Rising


The music is just right, cheery and light. When I listen this track I do a bit of tapping of my hands and enjoy every beat of the song. you will enjoy to listen this track during road trip. Josh voice is so relaxing that you would enjoy listening again and again.


Flower Power


I love the folky ballad style of the song; it soothing to the ears and you will feel relaxed when you listen this. Every time I listen this I imagined the 1960s hippie culture and Woodstock ambiance. Josh singing style kinda reminds me a bit of Axl rose singing on this song.


Least Faves


A Change Is Gonna Come


This a cover song from Sam Cooke in 1964,I could say that they give justice on covering the song. They give a fresh look on the song and I giving thumbs on it. I just want to clarify that I did not put this song as my least because I don’t like it. but what I lacking on their other song is too sluggish, it’s too slow that sometimes bores me to listen.


Rating 3.5/5


The EP has a full of HARD ROCK / BLUES ROCK EXPERIENCE. It was great to listen. It feels like nostalgia if you listen this EP. The every member displayed their talents well.


Josh singing is exceptional and has similarities with Robert Plant of Led Zep. The question is his singing style would be advantage or disadvantage to the band? I could say both. Advantage since it would be one of a kind from the first time listeners and his style is unique among his music contemporaries. but I would be also disadvantage since his style is just like copy paste from Robert plant. Which others can say this is a copy version of led zep. No doubt that his singing style has similarities with Led Zep when I heard it first time.


For the other band members, Jake, the guitarist, displayed unique guitar play; he offered a catchy and bluesy guitar play, which reminds me of AC/DC mixed with Led Zep. Sam’s bass play is also outstanding, his solos offers groovy beat that makes your ear satisfied. In fact, he his one of my favorites in the band. Lastly, Danny’s drum play supports the band’s overall sound and without him the songs wouldn’t be good enough.


I strongly recommend listening this EP during road trips and this EP fits for the fans of HardRock



Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page