top of page

BAND MAID UNSEEN WORLD ALBUM REVIEW




Unseen World is the seventh studio album by the Band-Maid. It was released digitally on January 13, 2021, with physical formats released one week later.

The album is the first Band-Maid studio album from Pony Canyon


Track Listing

1. "Warning!" 4:20

2. "No God" 4:10

3. "After Life" 3:23

4. "Manners" 3:50

5. "I Still Seek Revenge." 3:02

6. "H-G-K" 3:07

7. "Nightingale (Sayonakidori, サヨナキドリ)" 4:33

8. "Why Why Why" 3:37

9. "Chemical Reaction" 4:09

10. "Giovanni" 4:17

11. "Ambition (Honkai, 本懐)" 3:16

12. "Black Hole" 3:05

13. "Without Holding Back (Instrumental)"


Top Faves


Warning – One heaviest Band Maid song I’ve ever heard. The beat It’s a moshpit starter. You will feel engage in a wall of death in the intro part, then followed by a circle pit on verses. The sound is uplifting the gives you an energy to mosh and bang your head. Kanami posed her greatness on the guitar solos. Her killer riffs give an ear pleasing sound that you will listen on. I love when she’s playing over the car, she owned the stage.

Music Video is one of the coolest video ever seen and most aggressive and violent B-M music video. I love the explosion part; I give a standing ovation on that part. You would see on that video that are not messing around despite on their cute maid outfits


Manners – This is their carrier single when the album was released. I love the part, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah that’s one of the part that I remembered on this song and I used to laugh when I singing that part and It’s cool. This song I got into headbanging more. I do it in the entire song. I love the part, na na na na… on the last parts I get used to sing along with Saiki and Miku.


Afterlife – The song is too catchy that you will enjoy the beat especially on the chorus parts. Akane’s drum part is amazing she brings out her talent and all out the heaviness in the song thru her heavy chugging of the drum, it’s like a machine gun firing at your ears. Saiki’s vocals complements akane’s drums plays. Her vocal delivery is remarkable and you will love to sing along with her.

The MV is also amamzing, I love the zoom in zoom out technique on the band part. It gives some emphasis on each member and adds coolness on the video.


Honorable Mentions


Why Why Why – Saiki cough in the beginning makes me laugh and reminds me of All Time Low’s Dear Maria. The song is just right. The guitar riffs were also and catchy and has a pop rock vibe and its good to listen.


NO GOD – On this song, the bass play is the star in the song, it’s amazing. Misa gives her signature bassline which I am always expecting for a band maid song. Her basslines is very satisfying to the ear.


Nightingale (Sayonakidori, サヨナキドリ) – this is the first I heard Miku’s voice after singing big dad on their first album. Miku’s voice is so cute and lovely. Her voice is fit for a pop rock type song but it exceed my expectation when she sing it on Hard Rock genre. It’s amazing.


Chemical Reaction – I love the heavy guitar riffs, the sound has more on heavy metal meanwhile saiki’s has like a pop rock style vocals. The song has like a mix of heavy metal, hard rock and pop. I can’t stop to bang my head for every riffs thrown. It way too heavy and Saiki’s voice has like an “angas factor” which is like it much.


Least Faves


Giovanni – among all of the band maid songs in the album, for me, this song is their black sheep. The song is nice but it didn’t meet the uniqueness comparing on the other songs in the album. It’s just like a typical rock song that you will love to use as background music.






Rating 5/5


Sh*t! THIS IS THE HEAVIEST BAND MAID ALBUM THAT I’VE HEARD! It level up much comparing on their previous album. In terms of the production wise it has more appeal than their previous albums. It brings out their image where cute maid bring AGGRESSIVE MUSIC! This album has a likeness of World Domination but giving pure HARD ROCK / HEAVY METAL SOUND. I noticed as well that they did not provide a lighter track this time which I like. When I heard song different, thought that song will be included in this album and I thought to myself, this song is light and I am expecting that their album would be light just like the CONQUEROR album. But it my expectations shattered when I heard the entire album. I don’t know if the label, PONY CANON has influenced the album as well but I could say that this album has different approach unlike their other albums.


This album is worth the wait. I am expecting last year that they will release this album, since they releasing albums yearly. I don’t know if the covid-19 slows down their production. But the end of the day, this album is very satisfying. I have a high expectation on the band to give us another exciting album next year and I am looking forward to that. I hope when things get back to normal they could visit our country.

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page