top of page

BAND MAID UNLEASH EP REVIEW




Unleash is the second extended play by Band-Maid. The EP was released by Pony Canyon on September 21, 2022, and contains eight tracks, including the lead single "Sense". It debuted at number nine on the Oricon Albums Chart, selling 6,391 in its first week


Track listing for Unleash

1. "From Now On" (instrumental) 3:46

2. "Balance" 3:09

3. "Unleash!!!!!" 3:10

4. "Sense"3:24

5. "I'll"4:07

6. "Corallium"3:54

7. "Influencer"3:23

8. "Hate?" 3:37


Top Faves

Influencer

This song offers catchy and playful sound and has an uplifting vibe. It has a remarkable chorus that you could sing along. I love Saiki’s delivery on “Hunky- dory dayee” it is playful and fun at the same time. I am also impressed on her versatility; she could rap on this song. The word she utters is clear. Meanwhile Misa’s bass and Kanami’s Guitar solo on the bridge is amazing they offered good sound. the bass plays has an “in your face sound” while Kanami’s guitar solo gives a pure solid rock sound.

The lyrics tellabout women who live their lives through social media and want to be beautiful all the time. The songs has display the satire on the influencers.

Overall I am impressed on the delivery of this song; the sound is new to me and unusual of the band maid songs


I’ll

This song has vibe of “The Pretty Reckless”. It reminds me of the song “You make wanna die”. I love saiki’s voice it fits well on the song and gives a remarkable chorus line that you could sing along. The guitar riffs of Kanami and Miku gives the heaviness in the song. It is headbangable. If I could compare the song into a coffee, It is just like you drinking black coffee with sugar that has a strong taste but you will surely like it.


Sense / Corallium

I had made a single review in these songs in the last season, you may go ahead and check out the cards will appear on the screen or click the links in the description. On this version, nothing’s changed and my thoughts are still the same.


Honorable Mention

Unleash

One of the fastest song in the EP. It has a different vibe comparing on the songs. It has a different song structure that you cannot predict what’s next. I am amazed on their song writing since it is not boring to listen. In addition, I’m giving thumbs on Saiki since she sang the song well. She said this song is difficult to sing. When I first heard this song, I wasn’t impressed on Saiki’s singing on the beginning. She’s kinda out of tune when she sings it, however when I listened it several times I got the point why she’s sings it the way it is.

Another thing that I appreciate that much is the music video, in the beginning of the video, it compiled the previous different MVs of band maid. Miku part was the MV of Thrill, Saiki is on Blooming, Akane is on World Domination, Misa is on DICE and Kanami is on Alone.


Least Faves

Balance

I do appreciate the riffs offered on the song. It displays the heaviness. What makes it on the bottom list is the lack of creativity of the band on executing the song. It is flat and not engaging to listen. Every time I listen this track I used the song is a BGM.



The strengths of this EP is that they displayed their creativity and playful on most of the song. It engages you to hear the EP again and again. They also experimenting new style such as rapping on Saiki’s singing, playing a fast paced songs and not repetitive song structure. This is a fresh new listening experience and the listeners won’t sure getting tired of listening this EP.

The weakness is that, Miku’s voice doesn’t appear that much in this EP;they are moving away the concept of the KAWAII in contrast in HEAVY ROCK sound. I feel the band’s different direction in this EP. I am hoping that they should keep the same image that they had in their previous materials.

Overall it is very interesting to listen and still i am impressed on their music. I hope for their next album they could deliver good music and keep their “kawaii but rock” image.



RATING 4/5

Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page