top of page

Band Maid New Beginning Album review





New Beginning is the second mini-album released by Band-Maid. It is the band's final release under

Gump Records, as they joined Nippon Crown the following year. The album reached No. 64 on the Japanese Oricon weekly albums chart.

New Beginning has been described as hard rock, heavy metal and pop metal, Music videos were produced for the songs "Thrill," "Real Existence," and "Don't Let Me Down."


Track Listing

1. "Thrill" 4:04

2. "Freezer" 3:15

3. "Real Existence" 4:11

4. "Price of Pride" 3:27

5. "Arcadia Girl" 4:04

6. "Don't Apply the Brake" 3:19

7. "Beauty and the Beast" 3:03

8. "Don't Let Me Down" 3:19

9. "Shake That!!" 4:05


Top Faves


Thrill

This is one of the popular song in the album, in fact this song is widely used as a reaction video of band-maid and lot of youtubers amazed on this song. This song is the reason why I got into band-maid. When I heard Real Existence, I know it’s a luke warm but this one changed everything.

What makes the song good is that the hard vibe brings out in the song. This is their first song in their listing and you’ll be surprised on the sound comparing from their debut album. The guitar riffs were the highlight of the song. It has an in your face approach. The heaviness is just right and the riffs has a resemblance of AC/ DC sound. The blending of Saiki and Miku’s voice is great. It is perfectly harmonized!

You will also hear for the first time Misa’s bass solos.


Freezer

The sounding of this song brings also the hard rock. This song reminds me of “The pretty reckless”. I am impressed on Saiki’s voice , it toned down and you will though a different singer sang the song. I am also giving a thumbs Miku’s voice, you will hear more her voice on this song. Most of time I am .listening Band-Maid’s songs I hear Saiki’s voice.

I like the approach of the song it has heavier sound comparing on the other track. The guitar toned down and I love riffs. Kanami’s solos makes my ear satisfied and I cant stop listen this track again and again.


Honorable Mentions


Price of Pride

I love Saiki and Miku’s voice, it blends perfectly. Their voice has a mix of hard rock and a bit of pop and it worked well. The instrumentals are great as well. The guitars, drums and bass worked well. I love the dynamics and the arrangements, you will hear of the instruments and the transitions are smooth from verse to chorus to instruments.


Arcadia Girl

The intro reminds me of Mardelas’ song, Symbiosis. It has a bit of resemblance and I am digging it much. Just like Price of Pride, the melody of the song has mix of hard rock and pop. I love the guitar plays on the song. Riffs were catchy and I can’t stop nodding my head when listening it.


Don't Apply the Brake

On this song I am giving praise Kanami, Akane and Misa. Their instrumental play gives life on the song and offers a remarkable sound. Kanami’s guitar brings out the moderate heaviness on the song and the hard hitting of Akane’s drum supports the guitar riffs and Misa amplified the heaviness between the two instruments.


Least Faves


Beauty And The Beast

What makes this song in my least faves is the transition of the song, there’s a lot of inconsistencies on the song. From instrumental plays, I don’t like how they execute the sound from the intro, verse to the chorus. The intro part offers the catchy sound, then on the verses, the sound is like that they thrashed around, then on chorus, they just slow down and offers more on pop sound. Im not fan of it. On the vocal execution, I am not digging the sort of .. rapping parts of Saiki on the verse then singing out as pop rock style on the chorus parts.


Verdict

4/5


Band-Maid sound changed drastically from their debut album, you will hear on this album that they incorporate the hard rock sound that would be the band’s signature sound. If you get used to listen their debut album and haven’t yet listen their succeeding albums. Then this album would be my suggestion to listen first, since it will open you further what Band-maid is sounds like. You will still hear a bit of the pop rock sound on some songs but not that much.

In this album you will love the catchy riffs from Kanami and Miku, they bring out the heavy stuff here and I praise them a lot. Saiki’s singing toned down. She offer more on harsh and lower voice comparing on the debut album. Akane’s drums brings out the heaviness on her hard hitting that can encourage you to bang your head further and for the first time you will hear Misa’s bass solos that you will enjoy so much. (knowing that, without the bass, the music will be dull.) *** DAVIE 504 will approve ***

All in all, I enjoyed it so much, no doubt that band-maid has rise to fame on this album since it gives out a good music with a unique talent. On this album, I could say they have more resemblance on AC/DC on a female version.




Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page